TU-K's Innaugural Students Scholarships Launched

 TU-K's Innaugural Students Scholarships Launched The Technical University of Kenya (TU-K) has introduced a students’ scholarship to reward best performers.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof Francis Aduol made the announcement on Friday September 2, 2016 when he met a group of First Year students who were admitted to TU-K this year having scored grade “A” Plain at Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) examination in 2015.

The VC disclosed that the decision was made by the University’s Management Board to offer a partial scholarship to the best performing students as a way of recognising and rewarding their excellence.

“This initiative is intended to encourage good performance in academic work at the University. It is a practice the world over for universities to be proud of top performing scholars in their ranks,” said the Vice-Chancellor.

The VC said the recipients will only be retained in the ‘Vice-Chancellor’s Roll of Hounour” as long as they score an equivalent of First Class every academic year. To obtain a First Class, a university student must score an average of 70 per cent in the course of study.

“We shall keenly monitor you as you progress through your academic journey. We have a lot of hope in you and trust that you will be mentors to others to excel,” the VC told the students.

Prof Aduol said other students not covered in the initial scholarship offer will be considered as long as they meet the strict criteria by posting excellent marks “equivalent of First Class” in their respective degree programmes.

Speaking on behalf of the other recipients, one student promised the VC that they will do all it takes to remain in the scholarship programme as a gesture of saying thank you to TU-K for the surprise offer of a scholarship that will reduce the financial burden for their parents.

 TU-K's Innaugural Students Scholarships Launched

Present during the lunch were Deputy Vice-Chancellor in charge of Academics, Research and Students, Prof Paul Shiundu and Administration, Planning and Infrastructure, Prof Joseph Kiplang’at. Others were the Executive Deans professors Alex Muumbo, Emily Akuno and Francis Gatheri as well as the Academic Registrar, Dr Hesbon Nyagowa and the Director of Communications and Public Affairs, Dr Ken Ramani.

List of Scholarship Recepients

. .
Distribution of scholarship recipients
Programme Name Number of students
Architecture 28
Civil Engineering 27
Quantity Survey 21
Aeronautical Engineering 15
Mechanical Engineering 12
Electrical and Electronic Engineering 12
Chemical Engineering 6
Geospatial Engineering 5
Biochemistry 1
Real Estate 1
Accountancy 1
Business Information Technology 1
Information Science 1